jump to navigation

“Our Vanishing Night” February 14, 2009

Posted by linta in My words.
trackback

Lonely star

This is the title of an article published in the National Geographic magazine a few months ago. Until reading this article in our homeroom as a part of our weekly article analysis, I had no idea about the issue discussed in the it-light pollution. It is funny that most of us do not know much about this phenomenon. Pollution is such an inevitable part of our education curriculum even in primary classes. However, our knowledge about different types of pollution is very limited as there are more kinds that we do not notice or know about. Light pollution is such an occurrence.

If you are in a city, haven’t you ever wondered why there are not many stars in the sky? Whenever I asked the same question, my mother had a convincing answer that just like sunlight hiding the stars during daytime, clouds hide them at night.  However, there were times when I was not satisfied with this answer because if it was so, why those clouds were invisible? Sky was like an empty blanket above my head. As it is night, we cannot see those clouds. It is really convincing, isn’t it? For me, it was enough. However, there was still one doubt remaining – why don’t those clouds cover the moon? Are they above the moon(which is utterly impossible) to hide the stars only?

Now, I have the answer to those questions and I got the answer from that article which I mentioned before. Though there are not clouds in the sky, (artificial)light hides the stars just as natural light does during day time. As it says in the article “Our vanishing night”, we are the ones who allow artificial light to spill out into the sky, without focusing it into land where it is needed and thereby invite light pollution. As long as light continues to spill out into the atmosphere, there will be  hardly any stars visible in the night sky.

Comments»

1. poorvoices - February 20, 2009

I am so thankful to you for informing us about light pollution. I had never heard about it before you presentated your blog proposal. After reading your posts, I have got little idea about light pollution. I hope as you have addressed such an issue which is not discussed much, it will help to make people aware about it.

Anticipating for more posts. Enlighten us.

Peace
Prabi

whisperofthewind - February 21, 2009

Thank you Prabi. (I am writing this comment for the third time! evertime I forget to click “submit reply”!) I will surely try to explore this issue of light pollution. This is new to me too. Only a few months ago I came to know that such a phenomenon exists!

2. thaso2 - February 24, 2009

I’m really happy that you introduced about the light pollution among us and others. Actually. before your praposal i do not know anything about this issue. even i did not hear there is a issue. about light pollution………Thanx for bringing up this issue among people and make aware among us……. looking forward for your next post…….

3. http://tinyurl.com/godllions08734 - February 6, 2013

“Our Vanishing Night Our Luminous World” ended up being certainly enjoyable and useful!
Within todays universe honestly, that is tricky to execute.
With thanks, Stan

4. Agustin - May 24, 2013

Hey! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to
give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading
your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?
Thanks!


Leave a Reply

